Classic Team Logo of The Day

08 Dec


This is a pair of classic logos of a major college football program, the Oklahoma State Cowboys. Both have been used since 1973, but the one on the left, with the orange-clad cowboy drawing his pistols, has been gradually phased out in the era of political correctness and replaced with the lasso-swinging one instead. The school’s gridiron program began in 1901, and they have won 1 national championship (in 1945) and had 1 Heisman Trophy winner (Barry Sanders). Besides Sanders, former OSU players who’ve gone on to pro football careers include Thurman Thomas, Jon Kolb, Dexter Manley, Jerry Sherk, Kevin Williams, R.W. McQuarters, Terry Miller, Russell Okung and current players Dez Bryant and Dan Bailey.


Leave a Reply