Archive for the ‘Classic Team Logo of the Day’ Category

Classic Team Logo of The Day

23 Apr


Logo of the National Football League’s latest relocated franchise, the Los Angeles Chargers. An original member of the old American Football League, the Chargers actually were born in L.A., spending only their inaugural season of 1960 in that city before moving to San Diego. The coach of the original L.A. Chargers was Hall of Famer Sid Gillman, considered a pioneer in the modern passing game. That team had a 10-4 record, won the Western Division title, but lost to the Houston Oilers in the very first AFL Championship game.


Classic Team Logo of The Day

07 Jan


Logo of a small college football team, used until 2005, the Southwest Missouri State Bears. The program began in 1908 and in 2005 the school shortened it’s name to Missouri State. Former Bears who went on to play pro football are Brad St. Louis, Tom Mullen and Jason Whittle.


Classic Team Logo of The Day

05 Jan


Logo of a small college football program that plays in the Missouri Valley Conference, the Youngstown State Penguins. The school began play in 1938 and has won 4 Division I-AA national championships. Former Penguins who have gone on to play pro football include Ron Jaworski, Paul McFadden, Donald Jones and Cliff Stoudt.


Classic Team Logo of The Day

04 Jan


Logo of a small college football team, the Austin Peay State University Governors, who first began play in 1930  and currently compete in the Ohio Valley Conference. Former Governors who have played pro football include Jeff Gooch and Percy Howard, whose only reception in his NFL career was a touchdown catch in Super Bowl X for the Dallas Cowboys.


Classic Team Logo of The Day

02 Jan


Logo of a college football team, the West Virginia Mountaineers, used from 1970 until 1979. Members of the Big 12 Conference, their program has been in existence since 1891. They’ve had 11 consensus All Americans over the years, and have sent many players on to pro football careers, including Sam Huff, Chuck Howley, Joe Marconi, Darryl Talley, Mike Vanderjagt, Ron Wolfley, Marc Bulger and Jeff Hostetler. Current NFL players who are former Mountaineers are Tavon Austin, Bruce Irvin, Karl Joseph, Adam Jones, Geno Smith and Pat McAfee.


Classic Team Logo of The Day

29 Dec


Logo of a college football team that plays in the Atlantic Coast Conference, the Wake Forest Demon Deacons. The school has fielded a football program since 1888, although they only played one game that season, beating North Carolina in the first football game ever played in the state. Former Demon Deacons who have had success in pro football include Billy Ray Barnes, Jim Clack, Brian Piccollo, Norm Snead, Bill George, Jimmy Orr, Ricky Proehl and Calvin Pace.


Classic Team Logo of The Day

22 Dec


Logo of a college football team that plays in the Southeast Conference, the Vanderbilt Commodores. Their program began in 1890, and they won a couple of unofficial national championships in the 1920s. Former Vandy players who’ve gone on to pro careers include Phil King, Bill Wade, Tom Moore, Pat Toomay, Corey Chavous, Jay Cutler, Corey Harris, Hunter Hillenmeyer and Will Wolford.


Classic Team Logo of The Day

15 Dec


Logo of a college football team that plays in the Big Sky Conference, the University of California, Davis Aggies. UC-Davis first fielded a team in 1915 and has won 30 conference titles, mostly in the Northern California Athletic Conference, which they were members of from 1925 until 1992. Former Aggies who’ve gone on to play pro football include Ken O’Brien, Rolf Benirschke, Mike Wise, Colton Schmidt, Casey Merrill, Mike Moroski and Daniel Fells.


Classic Team Logo of The Day

08 Dec


This is a pair of classic logos of a major college football program, the Oklahoma State Cowboys. Both have been used since 1973, but the one on the left, with the orange-clad cowboy drawing his pistols, has been gradually phased out in the era of political correctness and replaced with the lasso-swinging one instead. The school’s gridiron program began in 1901, and they have won 1 national championship (in 1945) and had 1 Heisman Trophy winner (Barry Sanders). Besides Sanders, former OSU players who’ve gone on to pro football careers include Thurman Thomas, Jon Kolb, Dexter Manley, Jerry Sherk, Kevin Williams, R.W. McQuarters, Terry Miller, Russell Okung and current players Dez Bryant and Dan Bailey.


Classic Team Logo of The Day

01 Dec


We recently featured the logo of the Temple University Owls, and here’s another Owl logo, that of the Rice Owls, another college football team. Rice’s football program began in 1912, they have been members of the old Southwest Conference and the Western Athletic Conference, and currently play in Conference USA. Former Owls who have gone on to play pro football include Buddy Dial, Tobin Rote, Billy Howton, King Hill, Don Maynard, J.D. Smith, Tommy Kramer, Frank Ryan, O.J. Brigance, Earl Cooper, Darryl Grant, Larry Izzo and Bert Emanuel.